Hagen Family Foundation Travel Award

The Hagen Family Foundation Travel Award is an award of up to $1,500 granted to a doctoral student or faculty member who attends and presents a paper at the 2019 ARIA Annual Meeting. The objective of the award is “to extend the opportunity to attend the ARIA Annual Meeting to those who would not otherwise attend, yet would benefit from the interaction with their peers.”


To be eligible for a travel award, an applicant must:

  • be a Ph.D. student or faculty member from a U.S. or foreign university
  • have a research paper accepted for presentation at the 2019 ARIA Annual Meeting
  • explain their funding situation for the purpose of attending the ARIA Annual Meeting


Questions about the award should be directed to the Hagen Family Foundation Travel Award Committee Chair, Richard Peter at richard-peter@uiowa.edu. Other questions about the meeting should be directed to the ARIA Executive Office by phone at 610-640-2100 or email at aria@theinstitutes.org.

The Hagen Family Foundation

The Hagen Family Foundation (THFF) is a private family foundation established in 1999 that provides financial grants to not-for-profit organizations. THFF favors creative and innovative proposals in the areas of the arts, education, environment, religion, and social services.

Award Recipients

Recipients of the Hagen Family Foundation Travel Award are:

Sangyong Han, East Strougsburg University

Sebastian Schluetter, University of Applied Sciences

Evan Eastman, University of Georgia

Chia-Chun Chiang, University of South Carolina

Sebastian Soika, Ludwig-Maximillians Universitat Munich

Willie Dion Reddic, Syracuse University

Tzuting Lin, National Taiwan University

Yunjie (Winnie) Sun, University of Wisconsin Madison

Sojung Park, Cal State University Fullerton

Jing Ai, University of Hawaii at Manoa