Home | Contact Us | Sitemap

The President's Award

The President’s Award was initiated in 1994 by then-President Dr. Harold Skipper of Georgia State University. His stated intention was to recognize an individual’s distinguished, sustained, and significant service contributions to ARIA, service that otherwise might go unrecognized. While the President nominates the recipient annually, the award need not be for service to the President directly. Furthermore, while the expectation is that the award will be made to non-academic members of ARIA, there will be instances when an academic member is an appropriate recipient.

The President chooses the recipient and a plaque is prepared for presentation at the Awards Luncheon at the annual meeting. No monetary award is included.

Past recipients of the Award include:  

2018   Patricia Born

2017   Andreas Richter

2016   Harris Schlesinger

2015   Joan Schmit

2014   J. David Cummins

2013   Tony Biacchi

2012   Georges Dionne, HEC Montréal

2010   Martin Grace, Georgia State University

2009   Mary Weiss, Temple University

2008   Debbie Babcock and Kathleen McCullough

2007   Richard Derrig

2006   Norma Nielson and Ryan Lee

2005   W. Jean Kwon and Patrick Liedtke

2004   Norman Baglini

2003   Diana Lee
2002   Richard MacMinn
2001   Philip W. Stichter
1999   Karen Hamilton, Terrie Troxel and Amy Ellsworth
1998   Bill Rabel
1997   Richard Derrig
1996   Jim Garven
1995   Terrie Troxel
1994   Anita Benedetti

Congratulations to this year's winner of the President's Award and heartfelt thanks to all these individuals for their invaluable contributions!

Home | Contact Us | Site Map | © American Risk and Insurance Association