Home | Contact Us | Sitemap

Excellence in Teaching Award 

The Excellence in Teaching Award was initiated in 2007 by the New Awards Committee. This award recognizes excellence in risk management and insurance teaching. Applicants should have a distinguished record of excellent teaching throughout their academic career. This award is a non-monetary award and will be awarded only in years when an exceptional candidate is identified. An award certificate will be presented at the Awards Luncheon at the 2016 Annual Meeting in Boston, MA.

A complete application package will include the materials described below:

  1. Completed Application Form
  2. Current Curriculum Vitae
  3. Teaching Portfolio that includes but is not limited to:
    • Statement of teaching philosophy (not to exceed two pages)
    • Syllabi of at least two (2) recent courses
    • Summaries of student evaluations (scores and/or comments) for at least two (2) recent courses
    • Grade distribution for several recent courses
    • List of prior teaching awards won (if applicable)
  4. Letters of Recommendation (not to exceed two [2] pages each)
    • Two (2) letters from students
    • One additional letter of support (e.g., from colleague)
    • Additional letters are optional
  5. Additional Documentation
    Additional information documenting teaching excellence also may be included. This might include statements of the applicant’s role in attracting RMI majors, the applicant’s role in designing new courses or in using innovative teaching methods, the applicant’s role in program (or major) level assessment of learning outcomes, etc.
The application and supporting materials (send one PDF file) should be emailed to William Rabel (wrabel@cba.ua.edu) University of Alabama. The application deadline is March 20, 2017.

Click here for the 2017 Excellence in Teaching Award Application.

To save or print a copy of the Excellence In Teaching Award rules, please click here.

Past recipients of the Excellence In Teaching Award are:




2016 Nathaniel Pope Illinois State University
2015 Andre Liebenberg The University of Mississippi
2012 Rob Drennan Temple University
2011 Patrick Brockett University of Texas-Austin
2010 William Rabel University of Alabama
2009 James Garven Baylor University
2008 Mark Browne University of Wisconsin-Madison
2007 Rob Hoyt University of Georgia


Home | Contact Us | Site Map | © American Risk and Insurance Association